Capital Area CASA Celebrates 25th Anniversary

CASA Celebrates 25th Anniversary

BATON ROUGE, La. – Capital Area CASA (Court Appointed Special Advocate) Association is celebrating twenty-five years of advocating on behalf of abused and neglected children in East Baton Rouge Parish. Since September 1992, Capital Area CASA Association has trained 1,232 volunteers who provided a voice in court for more than 2,700 children. 


Twenty-five years later, CASA continues to strive to provide a trained volunteer advocate for every child who needs a voice in East Baton Rouge Parish. CASA welcomes 21 individuals who were officially sworn in as CASA volunteers by Juvenile Court Judge Adam Haney on September 21. 


The new advocates were sworn in at the CASA office on the final evening of a 32-hour training course, which prepares CASA volunteers for their advocacy work. Once assigned to cases, the volunteers will work to help abused and neglected children reach safe, permanent homes. 


Community volunteers are needed in order for Capital Area CASA to continue serving every child who needs a voice in our community. No special background is required. The first step to becoming a CASA volunteer is to attend one of the following 45-minute orientation sessions at the CASA office, 848 Louisiana Ave. 


Saturday, October 7 at 10 a.m. 

Wednesday, October 11 at noon 

Tuesday, October 17 at 6:00 p.m. 

Thursday, October 26 at noon 

Monday, October 30 at 3:00 p.m. 

Saturday, November 4 at 10 a.m. 

Thursday, November 9 at 6:00 p.m. 

Tuesday, November 14 at noon 

Monday, November 20 at 3:00 p.m. 

Wednesday, November 29 at 1:00 p.m. 

Saturday, December 2 at 10:00 a.m. 

Thursday, December 7 at 5:00 p.m. 

Monday, December 11 at 3:00 p.m. 

Wednesday, December 20 at noon 


CASA is accepting people into its next volunteer training class, which begins January 2018. To learn more about becoming a CASA volunteer, call (225) 379-8598, visit casabr.org or email volunteer@casabr.org. 

 New Court Appointed Special Advocate volunteers are officially sworn in by Juvenile Court Judge Adam Haney on September 21 at Capital Area CASA Association. 


 CASA Trainees: Newly trained Court Appointed Special Advocate volunteers include, from left, Andrea Grant, Suzanne Danilson, Quanna Smith, Sharon Cobb, Emily Lindsay, Patti Dunbar, Lourain Walker, Nicholas Lopez, Wayne Parker, Reba Riddle, Judith Lester, Susan Maxwell, Kyra Veigh, Allison Thomas, Ashley Booth, Chasity Matthews, Tammeral Hills, Olivia Claude, Jamie Alexander, Rachel Carbo, Ashley Williams, and Renee Phillips. 
New Court Appointed Special Advocate volunteers are officially sworn in by Juvenile Court Judge Adam Haney on September 21 at Capital Area CASA Association. 
Share by: